Dan McClimon Memorial Track – Madison, WI

WisconsinI’m throwing a random track in today.  This past weekend, we made the trek over to Madison, where my daughter is a freshman, to run the Crazylegs Classic 8K.  This is obviously a huge step up for a quarter-miler, and road races aren’t something I run a lot of, but it was kind of fun.  My wife and her sister ran as well.  And my son, my niece, and my wife’s parents all did the 2-mile walk.  It was a hilly course, starting at the Wisconsin state capital building, and finished inside Camp Randall Stadium.  Along the way, we ran past today’s track, Dan McClimon Memorial Track, which was the first time I have seen this facility.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a very good look at things here, and only got a quick glimpse.  For one, I was in a race.  Two, there were a ton of people running, so it was a constant speeding up, slowing down, and weaving around passing people.  You really had to pay close attention.  And three, the track is surrounded by trees and fences, so it was really difficult to see.  And I didn’t exactly have time to hang around to check it out and take some pictures.  From what I could tell, it looked nice, but a little old.

The Badgers host one meet here this season, the Wisconsin Open, on May 10th.  I was actually hoping to run in that one, but it doesn’t look like it’s going to fit in my schedule.  With the college season rapidly coming to an end here in Minnesota, and with the terrible weather we’ve been having, it looks like I won’t be racing now until June.

Bing Maps Link

One thought on “Dan McClimon Memorial Track – Madison, WI

  1. Pingback: Camp Randall Stadium – Madison, WI | Daily Track Pic

Leave a Reply

