Tórsbreyt – Tórshavn, Faroe Islands

Faroe IslandsToday’s track is one that I truly just stumbled across.  I was actually looking for any track in the Faroe Islands.  There are quite a few soccer stadiums in the small island nation, but I couldn’t find anything for track and field, until I happened to see this one while scanning a map of the area.  And to be completely honest, I had never heard of the Faroe Islands until just now.  The country is located in the North Atlantic, midway between Norway and Iceland.  The population here is roughly 50,000 people.  Tórshavn is the capital city, and has been the since the Vikings established it in the year 850.  Yes, that is correct and not a typo.  There is some incredibly deep history here.

Some of the pictures from the Faroe Islands look absolutely fabulous.  They have some of the most scenic soccer Faroestadiums in the world.  From the picture, you can see the snow-covered bluffs in the background.  The ocean is located less than a mile away in the opposite direction, past the other end of the track.  I really could not find much information at all on this facility, but it looks very new.  My best guess is that it opened in 2009.  It looks like it is a track only facility.  I think there are about 20 soccer stadiums here, so they don’t really need this one for soccer too.  This looks like a very nice track.  And I now have another country to add to my ever-growing list of places to visit someday!

Google Map Link

Leave a Reply

