Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track – Iowa City, IA

University of IowaThe next track of the Big Ten, is found on the campus of the University of Iowa.  I’ll be honest.  I was a very surprised at its appearance, when I first saw Francis X. Cretzmeyer Track.  I grew up in southern Minnesota, about 15 miles north of the Iowa border.  One of the three TV stations that we could get (before that high-tech cable TV finally came) was an Iowa station that covered Hawkeye games.  Black and yellow could be found everywhere.  I went to a football game at Kinnick Stadium a few years ago with  buddy of mine who is a huge Iowa fan.  It was a lot of fun, even though my Gopher got trounced, but I have never seen so much black and yellow in my life!  So to see a red track, with blue on the infield, really seems like a bizarre choice to me.  Don’t get me wrong.  It looks like a great facility.  It just doesn’t look like the Iowa Hawkeyes.  Built in 1986, it was resurfaced in 1993, only to be destroyed in a flood in 2008.  A brand new surface was installed in 2010, and a year later was the host of the Big Ten outdoor meet.

Google Map Link

Leave a Reply

