National Stadium – Bridgetown, Barbados

National StadiumToday’s Caribbean track is at the National Stadium of Barbados.  It’s hard to tell from the picture, but it looks like a decent facility.  Apparently though, its in really rough shape.  There are a couple of thing about this photo that stand out to me.  One is the weird white spots on the west side of the track.  Is it a glitch on the part of Google, or is something intentionally being covered up?  A conspiracy perhaps?  Probably not, but it’s still something that I haven’t seen before.  The other interesting thing that I noticed was the runway outside the stadium’s south end.  It looks like it’s a full 100m in length ( or longer), with five or six lanes.  And the two small curves that are added as well.  I’m thinking it might be a warm-up area, but they just didn’t have the space for a full track.  Or possibly just a second spot for training.  I’m not sure.

On a more personal note, I was actually in Barbados once, and it has always been a place that I wanted to go back to.  The first time wasn’t very exciting, because I was stuck on a plane while it refueled, so all I was able to see was the outside of the airport.  The island looked very cool though while landing and taking off there.  Someday…

Google Map Link

Leave a Reply

